NMN tablets vs capsules: which should you buy in the UK? (2026)
8 min read · Updated 24 October 2026 · Prices checked 10 to 24 October 2026
Most NMN sold in the UK comes in capsules (85 of the 107 products in our UK NMN Price Index, and none is a tablet), because tablets usually need binders, fillers or a coating to hold their shape and a capsule can hold pure NMN powder with nothing added, so read the label either way. RGENR8 Pure NMN Pro is 500mg of NMN per vegan capsule and nothing else: £27.99 for a 3-month supply (90 capsules) on your first order, 31p a day, with code WELCOME20 applied at the 3-month checkout.
NMN tablets vs capsules: what changes in the product
A tablet is powder pressed into a solid. For that, the powder has to stick together and release from the mould, so makers normally add binders and fillers, a lubricant such as magnesium stearate, and often a coating. A capsule is a shell of HPMC, vegetable cellulose or gelatin filled with loose powder, so it can hold NMN alone. The market follows: 85 of the 107 products in our index are capsules, 22 are powders and none is a tablet.
Our searches on 24 October 2026 found no NMN tablet sold by a UK retailer either. Tablets do exist in research: a 2023 study gave adults 500mg tablets of a trial formulation, MIB-626 (PubMed). Many people also type "tablets" for any pill they swallow, and for that a capsule is what you will buy.
NMN formats compared: ingredients, dose, stability and UK price per gram
Prices come from the UK NMN Price Index: 107 products from 44 brands, checked 10 to 24 October 2026. We record what each seller's page states and tested nothing. Typical means the median price per gram of NMN, with the middle half of products in brackets.
Format
Usually in it besides NMN
Dose
Stability and handling
UK price per gram of NMN
Tablets
Binders, fillers, a disintegrant, a lubricant such as magnesium stearate, often a film coating. We found no UK NMN tablet to check.
Fixed per tablet.
Set by the coating and the maker's storage line.
Not priced: none in the index
Standard capsules
A shell of HPMC, vegetable cellulose or gelatin. Of 76 listings, 39 state nothing beyond the shell, 12 list a filler or flow agent (rice flour, magnesium stearate, silica) and 25 are blends or not stated.
Fixed per capsule, most often 500mg.
The powder stays sealed in the shell. Keep the tub closed, cool and dry.
£1.50 (£1.01 to £2.00), 75 priced products
Enteric or delayed-release capsules
A delayed-release HPMC shell, built to open further down than the stomach. Of 16 listings, 13 state nothing beyond the shell, none list a filler or flow agent (rice flour, magnesium stearate, silica) and 3 are blends or not stated.
Fixed per capsule.
Same as other capsules.
£1.00 (£0.90 to £1.21), 16 priced products
Liposomal capsules
Sunflower lecithin. 2 of the 3 in the index also list a bulking powder such as rice flour or maltodextrin.
125 to 250mg of NMN per capsule, so a 500mg dose takes two or more.
Follow the maker's storage line.
£5.00 (range £2.18 to £6.67), 3 priced products
Powder
Usually nothing: no powder in the index lists another ingredient.
Any dose you can weigh. Needs scales or a scoop.
Opened to air every time. Damp and warmth speed up breakdown (how to store NMN).
£1.17 (£0.81 to £1.44), 24 priced products
Sublingual
Powder meant to dissolve under the tongue. All 5 in the index are powders, and none lists another ingredient.
Any dose you can weigh.
As for powder.
£1.60 (£0.83 to £1.67), 5 priced products
RGENR8 Pure NMN Pro (standard capsule)
A vegan HPMC shell and 500mg of NMN. No fillers or binders.
500mg per capsule.
As for other capsules.
£0.62 on a first 3-month order, £0.78 after
Price per gram is the pack price divided by the grams of NMN in the pack, at standard prices. The capsule groups include RGENR8's own products. The RGENR8 row is the 3-month plan (£27.99 on a first order with WELCOME20, then £34.99). Full data: UK NMN Price Index (CC BY 4.0).
The label settles what is in a capsule: 12 of the 76 standard-capsule listings list a filler or flow agent and 39 state nothing beyond the shell. Price per gram also ignores the work of dosing: a capsule arrives at 500mg while powder needs scales or a scoop, so compare the grams of NMN per pack and the dose per capsule.
Two capsules out of the jar: an HPMC shell and 500mg of NMN.
What to look for on an NMN tablet or capsule label
Check these seven things on any NMN tablet or capsule label before you compare prices.
Read the other ingredients line. Everything after NMN is the shell or an excipient. Rice flour, microcrystalline cellulose, maltodextrin, calcium carbonate, magnesium stearate and silica are fillers, bulking agents or flow agents, and a tablet usually lists several. Our own label check is in NMN with no fillers in the UK.
Find the NMN per capsule or tablet, then per serving. A front label reading 500mg can mean two 250mg capsules, and 13 capsule listings in our index state a 1,000mg serving. Divide before you compare.
Spot the blends. 9 capsule listings combine NMN with TMG, quercetin, resveratrol or an uptake blend. Compare those on the grams of NMN per pack.
Check the shell. HPMC, vegetable cellulose and pullulan are plant-based, and gelatin comes from animals. A delayed-release or enteric shell says so on the label.
On a tablet, find the coating and the binder. Look for film coating, shellac or glaze, binders and disintegrants such as microcrystalline cellulose or croscarmellose sodium, and lubricants such as magnesium stearate or stearic acid. Confirm the milligrams of NMN per tablet, since the tablet weight includes all of them.
Ask for the batch certificate. An independent lab's certificate of analysis should match the lot number on the pack and state the purity. RGENR8 sends one on request.
Work out the price per gram of NMN. Divide the pack price by the grams of NMN (milligrams per capsule times the number of capsules, divided by 1,000). Example: 90 capsules at 500mg hold 45g, so £27.99 is £0.62 a gram.
Which format should you buy?
For a daily dose with nothing to weigh, buy a 500mg capsule whose label lists only the shell.
For a tablet, buy only one whose label gives the NMN per tablet and names every binder and coating. We found none on sale in the UK.
Delayed-release capsules are optional. We found no published human trial showing them beating a plain capsule.
Powder suits you if you want to set your own dose and will weigh each one. Pick a label that lists NMN only.
For liposomal, no published human trial shows it beating plain NMN, and the median is £5.00 a gram in our index (Is liposomal NMN worth it?).
RGENR8 Pure NMN Pro is a standard capsule: 500mg of beta-NMN at 99% purity or above in a vegan HPMC shell, with no fillers or binders. It is made to GMP-equivalent standards and every batch is tested by an independent accredited lab (certificate of analysis on request). The 3-month plan is £27.99 for 90 capsules on your first order with WELCOME20, which is 31p a day or £0.62 a gram, then £34.99 every 3 months. That is the lowest first-order price per gram for 500mg capsule packs under 1,000 capsules in our UK NMN Price Index. UK delivery is free, with a 14-day money-back guarantee on unopened bottles. What a pure 500mg capsule should look like is in Pure NMN 500mg UK.
Common questions
Are NMN tablets as good as capsules?
Nobody has shown that one is better. We searched PubMed on 24 October 2026 and found no trial comparing an NMN tablet with an NMN capsule. Trials have used both: plain capsules in the 60-day Yi et al. trial (2023) and 500mg MIB-626 tablets in a 2023 study. Judge a tablet by its label, and we found no NMN tablet sold to UK consumers.
What are the best NMN capsules in the UK?
The best NMN capsule for most buyers states the NMN per capsule, lists only a shell besides NMN, and offers a certificate of analysis for your batch. RGENR8 Pure NMN Pro fits that at 500mg a capsule: £27.99 for 90 capsules on a first order, 31p a day. See Best NMN supplement UK 2026 for brand comparisons and 500mg NMN capsules in the UK for every pack ranked by price.
Do NMN capsules need to be enteric coated?
No published evidence says they do. We found no human trial comparing enteric or delayed-release NMN with plain NMN. The 60-day Yi et al. trial used plain capsules, describes no coating, and raised blood NAD+ at 300, 600 and 900mg a day. Delayed-release shells are common in the UK (16 of the 85 capsule products in our index), so treat one as an option.
Can you open an NMN capsule?
Yes, with a standard capsule. The shell is a container for NMN powder, so you can empty it into a drink and finish the drink straight away. Do not keep an opened capsule, since the powder meets air and moisture. Leave delayed-release and liposomal capsules closed, since their shells are the point. You cannot split 500mg by eye, so for a smaller dose buy a lower-strength capsule or weigh the powder.
NMN capsules vs powder: which is better?
On the evidence we found, neither. A capsule gives a measured 500mg with nothing to weigh. Powder lets you choose any dose, but you need scales or a scoop and the tub opens to air every time. Whichever you pick, read the label for added ingredients. The one controlled human trial of sublingual NMN found the same blood NAD+ as swallowing; see Is liposomal NMN worth it?
NMN has no GB novel food authorisation yet. The application, RP-2116, is at risk assessment with the Food Standards Agency, and you can follow it on the FSA register.
If you are pregnant, breastfeeding, taking medication or managing a health condition, check with your GP or pharmacist before taking any supplement.